After the major reshuffle of India’s Council of Ministers on October 28, 2012, it has become evident that many ministers are in favor of more economic reforms. The Cabinet reshuffle is the biggest one yet, for the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance Cabinet.

The Indian Prime Minister has included 17 new faces in the Cabinet. A total of 22 ministers have been given a chance to help cleanse the current governments’ tainted name, as well as fix issues such as scams and non-performance from its progress report. The Congress has also shown that it is the heavyweight in the UPA, as it has 69 of the 79 ministers including railways.

The new ministers of the cabinet are expected to take charge of their posts on October 30, 2012. Petroleum minister Veerappa Moily will assume charge at 9:30 am, while Manish Tewari of Information and Broadcasting will take charge at 11 am, he is also the MoS with independent charge.

The Law and Justice Minister Ashwani Kumar will take charge at 11 am, while Sachin Pilot will take over as MoS independent Corporate affairs at 11:15 am. KH Muniyappa, MoS independent, Ministry of Micro, Medium and Small Enterprises will soon take charge at noon. Pawal Bansal, the Railways Minister will also be taking charge at 12:15 pm.


18 − twelve =