The state-owned oil companies in India have now resumed issuing subsidized cooking LPG gas connections beginning with the North Eastern states. In the month of September, 2012, oil companies had stopped issuing subsidized connections.

The move was taken so as to eliminate users who have multiple connections at the same address. New LPG connections are now being issued in Meghalaya, Nagaland, Sikkim and the Andaman and Nicobar Islands. Other states like Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Manipur and Tripura will follow suit shortly.

Prospective customers who do not possess connections and live in the aforementioned states can now avail the new subsidized LPG connection. This is applicable to all those who had registered for new LPG connections with gas distributors  up to October 15, 2012.


eighteen − 16 =