On July 13, 2013, 37-year-old Hemant Soren – the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) leader – was sworn as the ninth chief minister of the state. The leader was administered oath by the governor Syed Ahmad. The legislators Rajendra Prasad Singh of Congress and Annapurna Devi of RJD have also taken oath as ministers. The swearing in ceremony took place at Birsa Mandap of Raj Bhawan. The government of Arjun Munda of the Bhartiya Janata Party was dethroned.


The current assembly period ends in December 2014 and this will be the third government in the current assembly. Soren has been given a week by the governor to get trust vote. Before the swearing in ceremony, Soren received blessings from his father Shibu Soren and mother Rupi Soren.

Hemant handed the letter of support of 43 legislators to the governor. Out of 43 legislators who are supporting JMM to form the government, 18 are from the JMM, five from RJD, 13 from Congress and seven legislators belonging to smaller parties or independent legislators.

The new government gained momentum when Congress Jharkhand-in-charge BK Hariprasad and senior Congress leader Shakeel Ahmed met JMM chief Shibu Soren on July 2, 2013. Hemant went to Delhi on the same day.