The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Arvind Kejriwal managed to end the 15-year-long reign of Sheila Dikshit in assembly elections in Delhi, India. Dikshit resigned after the Congress failed to show colors in the elections. Just one day after the victory was claimed by AAP, it stated that it will not stake claim in order to form government and will serve as a constructive opposition.

aam aadmi

The resignation of Dikshit was submitted to Lt. Governor Najeeb Jung and vote count showed that the Congress might not be able to claim even a dozen seats in the Assembly which has 70 members. The recent assembly polls have shown that the rule of the Congress in the capital state might be changed after 15 years.

Meanwhile, when it comes to the overall results, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) managed to win the majority of seats and the Congress went down from first to third place with an impressive debut from the Aam Aadmi Party. BJP claimed 31 seats, while the AAP has 28 seats and Congress managed to grab just 8 seats.

Additionally, the fate of 810 candidates for the 70-member Assembly will be decided on Monday, December 9, 2013. The results of the Delhi Assembly Elections are showing the mood of the urban electorate just before the general election.

Photo Credits: Deccan Chronicle