FIFA 2014 – The world’s most awaited Soccer tournament to kick off in Brazil.

The FIFA 2014 World Cup Soccer tournament is all set to begin in Brazil on June 12, 2014.

The five yearly tournament will be hosted by Brazil and will be held by FIFA (Federation Internationale de Football Association).

The World Cup tournament will continue till July 13, 2014. The Brazilian cities of Cuiaba, Brasila, Belo Horizonte, Curtiba, Fortaleza, Manaus, Natal, Recife, Porto Alegre, Rio de Janeiro, Salvador and Sao Paolo will all witness the various matches during the tournament.


About 32 teams will be a part of the World Cup this year. The Preliminary Competition takes place every three years before the World Cup where the teams have to qualify in the matches in order to be eligible for 31 slots. Brazil is the host nation this year and has thus automatically qualified in the competition.

The teams are classified in to eight groups of four teams each at the beginning of the competition. The top two teams in every group will qualify to get in to the second round group which will have 16 teams. They will play in successive rounds to reach the finals.

The game also has a third place where the teams which lose in the semifinals play against each other. The most outstanding player at every World Cup Finals will be presented with the Adidas Golden Ball award.

Photo Credits: BBC


13 + 8 =