Indian cricketer Virat Kohli nominated for ODI Cricketer of the Year Award.

26-year old Indian batsman Virat Kohli is the lone Indian male cricketer to be nominated for the ODI Cricketer of the Year Award. The prestigious award was won by the cricketer in 2012. Kohli will be up against 3 South Africans to win the coveted title – Quiton de Kock, Dale Steyn and AB de Villiers. Kohli has been the pioneer of Indian cricket in the last few years.

Virat Kohli

The last few series have seen the batsman struggling to find some form, but his supporters believe it is just a phase of bad form. In the 140 ODIs that the has played so far, Kohli has scored 5752 runs at an exceptional average of 51.24.

India had 2 more nominations in the form of Indian Women’s captain Mithali Raj as she is nominated for Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year and Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year.

Meanwhile, Australian pacer Mitchell Johnson and Sri Lankan batsman Kumara Sangakkara will be hoping to make history by winning the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the Cricketer of the Year award for the second time, a feat no one has achieved till now.

The decision for nominees is made by cricket personalities from around the world and will take into consideration the performance of players between August 26, 2013 and September 17, 2014. The winners will be announced to the press on November 14, 2014, while there will be a TV special a day later.

Photo Credits


1 × two =