Singapore government made an important announcement last week that it is all set to reopen its borders for tourists from 9 more countries. The tourists from those countries will no longer have to undergo the quarantine. From October 19, 2021 vaccinated travellers from six European countries including Italy, France, Denmark, Spain and the United Kingdom will be allowed a quarantine free travel. Tourists from the United States of America and Canada will be joining the visitors from Brunei and Germany, who were on a trial of the Singapore Vaccinated Travel Lane.

Now people from South Korea will also be able to Singapore from November 15, 2021. If the tourists have to be considered from the VTL countries, the visitors should have stayed in these countries for 14 consecutive days before their trip. During this time, the visitors will be allowed on multiple VTL countries or even transit through the above countries. People who are travelling under the VTL Scheme, will have to travel on a VTL designated flight that are mainly operated by Lufthansa and Singapore Airlines at the moment. More carriers are expected to be added in near future as the travel demand increases.

Moreover, it is obvious that the travellers will have to carry a proof of getting vaccinated against COVID-19. The vaccines should be those that are on the WHO Emergency Use List. But the residents of Singapore or EU who are unvaccinated and have recovered from COVID-19 are considered as fully vaccinated even if they have received at least one of the two doses of the approved vaccine.

The passengers who are arriving at Singapore will have to undergo a PCR test before they board the flight and take another test when they arrive at the Changi Airport. The short term visitors will have to purchase travel insurance that has a minimum coverage of SGD 30,000 for COVID-19 related medical treatment and hospitalization costs.

Photo Credits: Pixabay


fifteen − three =